Well… this is something a bit different. As some of you may know I’ve always been sporty, while not “in shape” (round is a shape isn’t it?) I do enjoy a good game or sport. I regularly play Slo-pitch in the summer and recreational volleyball in the winter. I actually prefer playing a game over going to the gym, I’m an Olympic gold medalist at finding excuses not to go. When I go I really really have to force myself to go because I find it boring…sorry….I do. Kudos to you if you’re a gym person and you like it and you go often and all that, I’m just never going to be that person…not even for the cult known as Cross-Fit, (titter).

So that said, I’ve recently been introduced to the wild world of pickleball. But what is pickleball you might ask? Well, since your Google muscle is clearly pulled I’ll tell you. (following copied from the web) Pickleball is an indoor or outdoor racket/paddle sport where two players (singles), or four players (doubles), hit a perforated hollow polymer ball over a 36-inch-high net using solid-faced paddles. Opponents on either side of the net hit the ball back and forth until one side commits a rule infraction. Pickleball was invented in 1965 on Bainbridge Island, a short ferry ride from Seattle, Washington. Three dads – Joel Pritchard, Bill Bell, and Barney McCallum — whose kids were bored with their usual summertime activities — are credited for creating game. Pickleball has evolved from original handmade equipment and simple rules into a popular sport throughout the US and Canada…and was even adopted as the official sport of Washington. The game is growing internationally as well, with many European and Asian countries adding courts. There…no you know.

How did this come about? Well a few weeks ago a few of the ladies I work with started to play. It started with one who started playing in her spare time and quickly ballooned into half of my department playing which then became me trying it out. Well let me tell you, I didn’t think I’d enjoy it as much as I used to tennis in my younger days, but man…is this sport fun. It’s a serious as you want to be or as silly as you want to be. You can play with players of all abilities and skill levels and it’s still fun. A great thing about this sport is a lot of the skills I already had from playing tennis, racquet ball, ping pong and badminton all translate over. Best part…it’s exercise and healthy for you. Win win.

Honestly It’s so much fun and I get excited when plans are made to play and look forward to it every time I step onto the court…no wonder they say it’s the fastest growing sport in North America. If you want to see some actual pro players play…Check out below

MAY THE FARCE BE WITH YOU

Leave a comment

Trending